top of page

Lots of winners at the Spring Meeting

The weather wasn't the best - strong winds, a bitter chill and a fair amount of rain in the middle of the morning - but the Spring Meeting was once again a memorable event for many reasons. 36 holes for foursomes was order of the day with an overall competition for the best scores from both rounds as well as prizes for the morning and afternoon. With no pair allowed to win more than one prize (apart from the two Nearest the Pin competitions), 6 pairs walked away with the crystal. Richard Fawssett of Croham Hurst and our old friend, Ian McAllum, representing Hunstanton but also a member of host club Denham, were the overall winners with a superb total of 78 points (40 in the morning and 38 after lunch). In second place overall were Nigel Ross and Stuart Lewis. This result saw Roscoe take home the Shield awarded to the highest placed CCGS member. The morning session was won by captain Min Patel and his partner, Graham Whicker of Crowborough Beacon. Runners-up in the morning were Ian Hodgson (CCGS member but also Chairman of Denham GC) and Pat Cunningham of the Royal Mid-Surrey. The afternoon winners were Steve Plumb and Giles Ecclestone with Tim Wren and Aaron Clarke of Walton Heath runners-up. Min also won Nearest the Pin for members (on the 8th) whilst the Guests' prize was won by Chris McAuliffe of West Hill. In all, 26 of our host clubs were represented and Chairman Tony Pigott expressed the Society's thanks to them and all of our hosts for their generosity and welcome over the year. All in all, it was a great day and special thanks should go to our Secretary, Richard Baker, for organising everything so well. Our thanks too should go to Denham for the hospitality. We were, as always, made to feel most welcome.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page